In IRC, if I join the irc.freenode.net channel's https room, I will get bellow information.

adams.freenode.net: *** Notice -- TS for #https changed from 1515925182 to 1272500695

Whats the meaning of it?

whats meaning of TS?

whats meaning of changed from 1515925182 to 1272500695?

I tried to join the 1272500695 room, but this not fit my thinking.

    "TS" is the channel's creation timestamp. It is usually shown in readable format when you join the channel, or when you use /mode #chan.

    (The large number is a "Unix timestamp"; number of seconds since 1970-01-01. 1272500695 is 2010-04-29 00:24:55.)

    In your situation, the message can be translated as:

    You have joined an empty channel. As the first person in it, you become a chanop.

    However, the channel is still owned (registered) by someone else. Services will now remove your chanop status.

    Netsplits – the original purpose of timestamps

    If the network splits in two and the channel ends up with no people on one side, it automatically gets destroyed (as usually happens with empty channels). Any random person trying to join that channel would re-create it and automatically become a chanop (channel operator).

    When the network gets re-linked, it needs to merge these two identically named channels from both sides. If their creation times are also identical, then they must be two halves of the same channel, and their user lists merged.

    However, if the channel coming from one side has a newer timestamp, that means it was re-created; the chanop status of everyone from that side is considered illegitimate and automatically removed.

    Services – the trick you are currently seeing

    When you join and re-create a channel which had been previously registered with network services, the services software fakes a similar event in order to remove chanop status of everyone who joined. It is a faster and more reliable method than rushing to send regular /mode -o commands.

    As an added bonus, this makes /mode #chan show the correct time of when the channel was originally created and registered.

      Your Answer

       
      discard

      By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

      Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.